The vedas are a large body of Indo-Aryan writings that are the oldest scriptures of Hinduism.

The texts are organized into four collections, which are called Samhitas. The four are:

(1) Rig Veda: Hymns to be recited by the presiding priest.

(2) Yajur Veda: Formulas to be recited by the officiating priest.

(3) Sama Veda: Formulas to be sung by the priest that chants.

(4) Atharva Veda: A collection of spells and incantations.
Categories: hinduism

Please comment