ODRB - The Online Dictionary of Reason and Belief

(Sanskrit = restraint, observance, or rule)

A Hindu and Buddhist term for things that you should do. As oppposed to yamas, which are things you shouldn't do.

1. In Hinduism, there are ten traditional niyamas:
(1) hri (remorse)
(2) santosha (contentment)
(3) dana (giving)
(4) astikya (faith)
(5) ishvarapujana (daily worship and meditation)
(6) siddhanta shravana (scriptural listening)
(7) mati (cognition - developing a spiritual intellect)
(8) vrata (sacred vows - fulfilling vows)
(9) japa (recitation - chanting mantras daily)
(10) tapas (endurance of opposites)
Categories: hinduism

Please comment