Ashtanga yoga
(Sanskit = ashta, eight and anga, limb)

A gymnastic style of yoga developped during the 20th century by Pattabhi Jois — a student of Krishnamacharya. It is promoted as a modern-day form of classical Indian yoga.

1. Jois began his yoga studies in 1927 at the age of 12, and by 1948 had established the Ashtanga Yoga Research Institute.

2. It is named for Patanjali's Eight Limbs of Yoga.

3. Its fast flowing movements and emphasis on Sun Salutations stimulates the sympathetic system, the fight or flight response.

4. Power Yoga is a more aggressive form of it.
Categories: yoga

Please comment